Hungerford Town Council

A: Main Council Committees that report to Full Council

Finance & General Purposes Committee

6 councillors

  • Mayor - Helen Simpson
  • Deputy Mayor - Keith Knight
  • T&E Chair - Martin Crane
  • F&GP Chair - Claire Winser
  • F&GP Deputy - Keith Knight
  • E&P Chair -  Carolann Farrell
  • RAWM  Chair - Helen Simpson
  • H&T Chair - Rob Brookman

Recreation, Amenities & War Memorials Committee

8 councillors

  • Chair - H Simpson
  • Deputy - C Farrell
  • Councillors - D Benneyworth, R Brookman, C Winser, M Cusack, S Hawkins, D Alford

Highways & Transport Committee

8 councillors and 1 co-opted non-councillor member

  • Chair - R Brookman
  • Deputy Chair - R Hudson
  • Councillors -  K Knight, J Downe, R Chicken, M Cusack, H Simpson, D Gaines,  John Willmott (co-opted non-councillor)

Environment & Planning Committee

8 councillors

  • Chair - C Farrell
  • Deputy Chair - C Winser
  • Councillors - R Hudson, M Crane, R Brookman, R Chicken, H Simpson, D Gaines

Tourist & Economy Committee

6 councillors

  • Chair - M Crane
  • Deputy - R Chicken
  • Councillors - H Simpson,  J Downe, S Hawkins, D Alford

B: Sub Committees (With Delegated Authority, Chaired By HTC, Require Full Agenda & Minutes) - Reports to Main Council Committees

Staff Sub Committee (Sub Committee Of F&GP)

Councillors - M Crane, R Brookman, K Knight, H Simpson

C: Working Party (No Authority) - Reports to Main Council Committees

Hungerford 2036 Project Team  

(Reports To Full Council)

  • Joint Chairs - Anthony Drewer-Trump, Geoff Greenland (non-councillors)
  • Members - Chris Scorey, Karen Caulfield, Janette Kersey (non-councillors), Town Clerk, R Hudson, K Knight, J Downe, D Gaines 

Hungerford In Bloom

(Working Party Reports To H&T)

  • Councillors - R Brookman, S Hawkins

Christmas Lights

(Working Party Reports To H & T)

  • Councillors - R Brookman, K Knight, R Chicken
  • Non-councillors - Rod Desmeules (Volunteer), Roger Ballard (Employee)

D: Councillors are not members but represent HTC

Town & Manor

HTC Representatives - K Knight, H Simpson

Royal British Legion

HTC Representative - H Simpson

Hungerford Leisure Centre

(JAC) Joint Advisory Committee

Non-councillors - Centre Manager: Rose Metalli, General Manager: Alex Godfrey, Shaun Wood

HTC Representative - K Knight

Youth & Community Centre

Non-councillors - Chair: Charlie Barr, Secretary: Alison Blake, Treasurer: (vacancy), Clerk: Andrea Hodgkin, Fundraising: Anthony Buckwell
HTC Representative - D Alford

E: Councillors have membership, but not set up by HTC

Triangle Field Management Committee

  • Councillors - C Winser (Chair), M Cusack (Marketing)
  • Non-councillor officers - Bookings: Rob Cox (HRJFC), Treasurer: Nigel Pateman (RFC), Secretary: David Small
  • Members - David Clayton (Community of Hungerford Theatre Co) 

Chamber Of Commerce

  • Councillors - M Crane, M Cusack
  • Chair - David Small
  • Non-councillors - over 50 members

Hungerford Library & Community Trust

  • Chair: K Knight
  • Members: Jane Simpkins (non-councillor), Chris Berwynuk (non-councillor), Peter Harries (non-councillor), Jo Pike (non-councillor)

Hungerford & Camburn Educational Trust

3 members are nominated by HTC - Margaret Wilson, Helen Simpson, Ron Rowland

Barbara Barr is Clerk and contact

Hungerford Twinning

  • Councillors - H Simpson (Honorary President)
  • Non-councillors - Chair: Penny Brookman, Secretary: Joy Gilbert


Councillors - M Crane

West Berks Association Of Local Councils

  • All councillors are automatically members
  • Non-councillors - County Executive Officer (temporarily covered by HALC), 15+ executive members, various members of local councils